THE TEAM

PRINCIPAL INVESTIGATORS

Dr. Laurie Chan

University of Ottawa
(613)-562-5800 ext. 7116
laurie.chan@uottawa.ca

Dr. Malek Batal

Université de Montréal
(514)-343-6111 ext. 35177
malek.batal@umontreal.ca

Dr. Tonio Sadik

Assembly of First Nations
(613)-241-6789 ext. 280
tsadik@afn.ca

Dr. Jiping Zhu

Environmental Health Science and research Bureau, Health Canada
(613)-791-2361
Jiping.Zhu@canada.ca

Dr. Tom Kovesi

Department of Paediatrics
University of Ottawa
(613)-737-7600 ext. 2868
kovesi@cheo.on.ca

Irving Leblanc

Director of Housing, Infrastructure and Emergency Management
Assembly of First Nations
(613)-241-6789 ext. 386
ileblanc@afn.ca

Dr. Geneviève Mercille

Professor of Nutrition
Université de Montréal
(514)-343-6111, ext. 28841
genevieve.mercille.1@umontreal.ca

Dr. Mélanie Lemire

Department of Social and Preventive Medicine
Université Laval
(1418)-525-4444, ext.81967
Melanie.Lemire@crchudequebec.ulaval.ca

Dr. Richard Bélanger

Pediatrician/Adolescent Medicine
Faculty of Medicine
Université Laval
(418)-654-2282
www.santedesadolescents.com
richard.belanger@chudequebec.ca

Dr. Pierre Ayotte

Department of Social and Preventive
Université Laval
(1418)-525-4444 ext. 81975
pierre.ayotte@crchudequebec.ulaval.ca

Dr. Treena Delormier

Department of Human Nutrition and Centre for Indigenous Peoples’ Nutrition & Environment
McGill University
(514)-398-7705
treena.delormier@mcgill.ca

Dr. Mylène Riva

Department of Geography
McGill University
(514)-398-6331

OUR STAFF

Lynn Barwin

University of Ottawa
FEHNCY Project Manager
lbarwin@uottawa.ca

Stéphane Decelles

Universite de Montreal
FEHNCY Research Coordinator
stephane.decelles@umontreal.ca

Dr. Brittany Wenniserí:iostha Jock

McGill University
Postdoctoral Researcher
Affiliation: Department of Human Nutrition and Centre for Indigenous Peoples’ Nutrition & Environment
brittany.jock@mcgill.ca

Amy Ing

Universite de Montreal
Data Analyst
amy.ing@umontreal.ca

Victor Odele

Assembly of First Nations
FEHNCY Communications Coordinator
vodele@afn.ca

Pascale Piedboeuf

Universite Laval
Research Associate
pascale.piedboeuf.1@ulaval.ca

Tom Northardt

Assembly of First Nations
Senior Policy Analyst
Infrastructure
(613) 241-6789 ext. 340
tnorthardt@afn.ca

Nathalie Ouellet

Universite Laval
Laboratory Manager
Nathalie.Ouellet@inspq.qc.ca

Ana Deaconu

Universite de Montreal
ana.deaconu@umontreal.ca

Community Research Manager (CRM): is the key link between the study staff and the community. Responsibilities include: training and supervising the Community Researchers during the data collection period as well as coordinating the community mobilization activities.

Community Researcher (CR): community members who are hired and trained to recruit participants, administer survey questions as well as conduct interviews and group discussions.

Household Inspector (HI): community members who are hired and trained to conduct the home inspections, including home exteriors and interiors, administering survey questions, installing indoor air quality monitors and collecting house dust samples.

Community Advisory Circle: Members of the participating First Nation will form a committee to advise on all project matters. They will also be asked to reflect on the meaning of the results for their community and determine how the results can be best used to address important local health and environment issues.

National Advisory Board: The purpose of the advisory board is to bring unique leadership, knowledge and connections which augment the knowledge and skills of the FEHNCY Principal Investigators in order to more effectively guide the study in a way that is sensitive and attentive to the needs of First Nations people. The Advisory is made up of regional First Nations leaders and academics, including youth, government representatives, and representative FEHNCY PIs. The Board will meet twice a year.

Members of the FEHNCY Advisory Board 2020-21:

Jonathan Dewar

CEO, First Nations Information Governance Centre (FNIGC)

Kluane Adamek

Regional Chief Yukon; Chair - AFN Advisory Committee on Climate Action and the Environment (ACCAE)

Connor Martin and Justen Peters

AFN National Youth Council (NYC) Representatives

Jarvis Googoo

Associate Director of Health, Atlantic Policy Congress of First Nations Chiefs Secretariat (APC)

Evan Adams

Deputy Chief Medical Officer, First Nations Inuit Health Branch (FNIHB)

Cheryl Khoury

Environmental and Radiation Health Sciences Directorate, Health Canada

AFN
university of montreal
quebec
health canada
uttowa logo
Mcgill

 

All in-person data collection for FEHNCY is currently on hold to comply with the physical and social distancing recommendations issued by the provincial and federal governments. The FEHNCY team will be starting online key informant interviews in the fall, 2020 and will continue modifying the project methods, timeline, and protocols in collaboration with First Nation partners to adapt to the current circumstances. We are committed to resuming all FEHNCY activities when it is safe to do so and when participating First Nations are ready.

X